I'm Scared
01/09/06 17:11
I know evil things lurk out there on the internet.
Strange and terrible things! And though I have been
witness to some of the internet's depravity, I've yet
to have it emailed to me...
Which, come to think of it, is a little strange. In fact, that's where most people encounter the strange things the internet may bring them. Perhaps my account at mac.com really is nifty, cuz I've yet to get any spam... 'cept the spam I know I signed up for at one time or another, and most of that's been blacklisted by Apple's Mail.app. Anyway... I returned to my computer to find a bizarre growl notification. It seemed to suggest that I had an unread email... from myself.... with a subject line that appeared to be in HTML. Of course, I didn't remember emailing myself anything, so I was intrigued.
Upon further inspection, the email was not from me at all... in fact it claimed to be from a "Wojcieh_Krzwa=F1ski"
Now I'm not good with names, but I don't remember knowing anyone like that... I looked around some more...
The email seemed to be devoid of actual content, the only dicernable attempt at communication came from the subject line, which did little but confuse me further.
"Traper Gniezno - Greetings from Poland..." Now this I thought was odd, considering the strange nature of everthing else, I had thought this to be a message in some forign language, but indeed some was in english.
Looking into the html that was the subject line, I found what appeared to be the domain from which the email originated, "traperpl.eu" In fact, it came from a Mr. "traperpl@traperpl.eu". Maybe you hadn't thought of this, but it stands to reason anyone with a user name the same as the domain, it stands to reason he's the one in charge over there. It also contained a jpeg, which I naturally thought to be the intent of the message.... this is what I saw...
Well, there's a connection, whatever this fellow means to say, it seems to involve my Imaginary Design Firm, Tasty Buffalo. For, as you can see, he has emailed me... or rather, attempted to email me an image of a buffalo. Cute. And very, very scary....
So some Polish guy sends me an email, saying hello... from poland... and it's something to do with a buffalo... Clearly, this is a riddle I must solve. My next thought was that, if he be the lord of traperpl.eu land, stands to reason he's got a homepage there.... so I hoped in safari and checked it out.
Perhaps you should go there, trust me, it isn't dangerous... But to sum it up, it appears to be some kind of Polish Gaming Reserve or something.
Now all this seems wholesome enough.... but what is this person trying to say? just what are his intentions? I could assume they're innocent, and if nothing else the guy lives in poland, so its pretty easy to ignore him, but still... very strange... I'll keep you all informed as to the status of my ongoing investigation as to what this means...
Which, come to think of it, is a little strange. In fact, that's where most people encounter the strange things the internet may bring them. Perhaps my account at mac.com really is nifty, cuz I've yet to get any spam... 'cept the spam I know I signed up for at one time or another, and most of that's been blacklisted by Apple's Mail.app. Anyway... I returned to my computer to find a bizarre growl notification. It seemed to suggest that I had an unread email... from myself.... with a subject line that appeared to be in HTML. Of course, I didn't remember emailing myself anything, so I was intrigued.
Upon further inspection, the email was not from me at all... in fact it claimed to be from a "Wojcieh_Krzwa=F1ski"
Now I'm not good with names, but I don't remember knowing anyone like that... I looked around some more...
The email seemed to be devoid of actual content, the only dicernable attempt at communication came from the subject line, which did little but confuse me further.
"Traper Gniezno - Greetings from Poland..." Now this I thought was odd, considering the strange nature of everthing else, I had thought this to be a message in some forign language, but indeed some was in english.
Looking into the html that was the subject line, I found what appeared to be the domain from which the email originated, "traperpl.eu" In fact, it came from a Mr. "traperpl@traperpl.eu". Maybe you hadn't thought of this, but it stands to reason anyone with a user name the same as the domain, it stands to reason he's the one in charge over there. It also contained a jpeg, which I naturally thought to be the intent of the message.... this is what I saw...
Well, there's a connection, whatever this fellow means to say, it seems to involve my Imaginary Design Firm, Tasty Buffalo. For, as you can see, he has emailed me... or rather, attempted to email me an image of a buffalo. Cute. And very, very scary....
So some Polish guy sends me an email, saying hello... from poland... and it's something to do with a buffalo... Clearly, this is a riddle I must solve. My next thought was that, if he be the lord of traperpl.eu land, stands to reason he's got a homepage there.... so I hoped in safari and checked it out.
Perhaps you should go there, trust me, it isn't dangerous... But to sum it up, it appears to be some kind of Polish Gaming Reserve or something.
Now all this seems wholesome enough.... but what is this person trying to say? just what are his intentions? I could assume they're innocent, and if nothing else the guy lives in poland, so its pretty easy to ignore him, but still... very strange... I'll keep you all informed as to the status of my ongoing investigation as to what this means...